Elliot L. Richardson Prize: Award Ceremony and Reception

Pavilion Room, Ronald Reagan Building
1300 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington DC,

Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 5:30pm - 8:30pm

As you know, the Academy is the home of the Elliot L. Richardson Prize for Excellence in Public Service Award and in 2018 we recognized The Honorable Sylvia Mathews Burwell and The Honorable Leon E. Panetta as the recipients of this year's Richardson Prize. 

The Prize, which honors Mr. Richardson’s extraordinary public service, is presented bi-annually to individuals possessing the public service virtues he exemplified.  Mr. Richardson, a late National Academy Fellow, served in four Cabinet-level positions in the U.S. government:  Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare (HEW), Secretary of Defense, Attorney General and Secretary of Commerce. 

Ms. Burwell and Mr. Panetta join such public service luminaries as John Koskinen, William Ruckelshaus, Sheila Bair, Paul Volcker, Robert Gates, James Baker, George J. Mitchell, Colin Powell, Alice Rivlin, George Shultz, Norman Mineta, Sandra Day O’Connor and Lee Hamilton in receiving the Prize.

Special thanks goes to the Elliot L. Richardson Prize Fund Board of Directors, chaired by Michael Rogers, and the Elliot L. Richardson Prize Fund Nominating Committee, chaired by Joe Kasputys and J.T. Smith, for their efforts in putting forward the awardees. 

Learn More